Mini blackboard

Last year I bought a mini blackboard from Poundland as a possible prop for my wedding… but the chalk wouldn’t write on it as it was too plasticky, so it got tucked in a corner and forgotten until now. I had paint left over from the mirror frame and I bought a tin of blackboard paint from The Range for about a fiver.

blackboard

I painted the plain wooden frame first and it only took two coats of paint. Then I layered on the blackboard paint. I suppose this wasn’t really a Pinterest project as the sites I visited were for painting MDF or similar bases rather than a piece of ‘blackboard’ (in Poundland’s eyes). I did about three layers of this paint as the brand I bought is also magnetic, so the more layers, the more magnetic it gets. I didn’t mask off the frame as it proved too fiddly, so I relied on just a steady hand on the edges.

I decided to use the blackboard in the kitchen for the weekly menu (yes, we’re that organised!), using Velcro picture hanging pads for easy putting up and pulling down from the side of the fridge. I think it looks pretty good, and it’s very handy!Summer 2015 002

Published by

victorialjames

Here I'll show you all the Pinterest craft, cooking and DIY projects I attempt - good and bad! Find me on Pinterest: @victoria1james or on Instagram: @victorialjames

Leave a Reply

