Blackberry pie slice

In the local area there are loads of bramble bushes and you no longer have to wait until October for blackberries – the bushes are heaving with them now. I managed to collect two boxes full but didn’t have the apples for a crumble, so Pinterest to the rescue for two things – a good recipe to try, and whilst looking for that, a site showed up about how to freeze blackberries properly.

My haul
My haul

I had enough blackberries to freeze half and make this recipe too. You start with a pastry-like mix, which is pressed into a dish or tin, and then you add a syrupy blackberry mix before finally crumbling the remaining ‘pastry’ on top. It all ends up like a mix of blackberry pie and crumble, but all in a handy to hold slice.

Looking promising...
Looking promising…

It was easy to make, though not so easy to tell when it was done – maybe use a Pyrex dish so you can see through the glass to the pastry base. It tasted delicious but next time (with the blackberries I froze!) I’d use less lemon zest and juice as it did overpower slightly. Also, I’d keep it in the fridge, as it goes soggy very quickly!

Get in my belly!
Get in my belly!

Recipe here: http://www.thenovicechefblog.com/2013/07/blackberry-pie-bars/

Published by

victorialjames

Here I'll show you all the Pinterest craft, cooking and DIY projects I attempt - good and bad! Find me on Pinterest: @victoria1james or on Instagram: @victorialjames

Leave a Reply

