Rhubarb bundt cake v.2

Rhubarb bundt cake, take two… and this time I made sure I had the icing sugar required. I followed the same recipe as previously, but this time I whisked the ingredients for much longer so the mixture was light and fluffy. All was looking good when I took it out of the oven; it had risen beautifully, so I left it to cool in the tin. Then disaster struck once again! I came back to the cake an hour or so later and my lovely, risen cake had shrivelled up in the tin and was half the height. Why?!?

There was nothing I could do about it, so I removed the wrinkly mass from the tin and prepared the icing made from rhubarb syrup and icing sugar. I had rather a lot of syrup so drizzled some of it into the cake à la last time and made icing with the rest. The rhubarb syrup gave the icing a lovely natural pink colour whilst also making the inside of the cake nice and gooey.

See? Sunken and gooey inside!
See? Sunken and gooey inside!

The cake still tasted delicious and with the icing didn’t look so bad, but I’m at a loss for why it sank so badly – is that what adding Greek yogurt does to a cake?

Looking better with its icing drizzle
Looking better with its icing drizzle

Recipe here: http://www.deliciouseveryday.com/rhubarb-bundt-cake/

Published by

victorialjames

Here I'll show you all the Pinterest craft, cooking and DIY projects I attempt - good and bad! Find me on Pinterest: @victoria1james or on Instagram: @victorialjames

2 thoughts on “Rhubarb bundt cake v.2”

Leave a Reply

