Decorated heart-shaped slate

I found this heart-shaped piece of slate in Wilkinson for a couple of pounds and picked it up as a cheap stocking filler for a friend. When I came to wrap it I decided it was a bit dull and since I have a pack of chalk pens, I thought I’d add a bit of my own decoration to it.

010
Nice, but plain (my crochet blanket is sneaking in on the action too!)

 

I searched ‘home is where the heart is’ on Pinterest for some pretty images to copy, which then brought suggestions for other chalkboard designs and pictures.

I went for a combination of one image saying ‘welcome to our home’ (as I didn’t think my original quote idea would fit on a small slate), and one set of flowery decorations that I thought would work on the heart shape. I was bold and didn’t sketch it out first but drew the design straight onto the slate and painted over it a few times. Luckily I didn’t make any mistakes, though I don’t 100% like my lettering on ‘home’ as it’s a bit chunky compared to the other writing.

011
A bit more interesting now!

I wish I’d bought more slates for Christmas presents as it was a quick make and looks heartfelt (see what I did there!).

Lettering link here: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/533324780852114179/

Decoration link here: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/533324780852035800/

Published by

victorialjames

Here I'll show you all the Pinterest craft, cooking and DIY projects I attempt - good and bad! Find me on Pinterest: @victoria1james or on Instagram: @victorialjames

4 thoughts on “Decorated heart-shaped slate”

  1. How brave of you!!! To just go ahead and paint! With no previous sketching! And a marvelous job you did!

    Goes to show, we ought to give ourselves more credit… Just do something… Without too much ‘hemming and hawing’ and ‘fiddling around,’ ahead of time. ,-)

    Tessa

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Tessa 😊 It was really because I was pushed for time and so went ahead and painted, normally I’m not so brave! But as it turned out so well, I’d be brave next time too!

      Like

Leave a comment