Rosemaling-style heart

Rosemaling is a traditional form of folk art from Norway, and a beautiful design appeared in my Pinterest feed after I pinned some Scandinavian Christmas decorations.

ellen G 7
My original inspiration

I received a plain blackboard heart from my lovely mum for Christmas and after seeing the rosemaling heart-shaped design, I thought my own version of the decoration would look effective on it, so I researched a simpler design to adapt.

IMG_0618
The heart and my trusty chalk paint pens

Unlike my previous slate heart painting attempt, I sketched out my design on paper first, since the heart is narrower than the one in the design I pinned.

IMG_0617
The design I was adapting and my sketch

I also sketched it out on the heart too before starting to paint it. I ended up altering my original sketch to take out the side flowers as I thought they wouldn’t fit nicely; I added dots and extra leaves instead.

IMG_0619
Pencil outline

I was limited by the colours of the chalk paint pens I have, but I am pleased with my first attempt at rosemaling. I love the symmetry and that it reminds me of canal barge painting, which my grandma was an expert at.

IMG_0624
The colourful end result – my attempt at rosemaling

Original rosemaling image link here: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/533324780852327490/

Adapted rosemaling image link here: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/533324780852327494/

Published by

victorialjames

Here I'll show you all the Pinterest craft, cooking and DIY projects I attempt - good and bad! Find me on Pinterest: @victoria1james or on Instagram: @victorialjames

Leave a Reply

