Rhubarb shortbread

Move over, rhubarb crumble muffins, this is my new favourite rhubarb recipe! I saw a picture for this on Instagram and when my small patch of rhubarb had grown substantial enough, I jumped at the chance of trying it out, and it’s delicious.

shortbread 5
Rhubarb shortbread

It starts with a simple, plain shortbread base which is part-baked before adding a liquid rhubarb mix on top and baking further. I was a bit concerned at how liquid-y the rhubarb mix was, but it works. It makes for a gooey, sweet, slightly stodgy texture on top of the crisp, rich shortbread base.

I was also concerned that the shortbread might get stuck on the foil lining (I’ve never used foil to line a baking tray) but luckily it didn’t.

shortbread 6
See, no sticking!

It is best eaten on the day it is made as the rhubarb topping has a slightly crunchy caramelised top which after a few days does get a bit soggy, though the shortbread remains solid rather than also going soggy, which was my fear. This is absolutely delicious and I highly recommend it!

shortbread 4
This square of loveliness made 16 portions

Recipe here: https://uk.pinterest.com/pin/533324780854982837/

 

Published by

victorialjames

Here I'll show you all the Pinterest craft, cooking and DIY projects I attempt - good and bad! Find me on Pinterest: @victoria1james or on Instagram: @victorialjames

Leave a Reply

