Painted stool

I have had my trusty Ikea Bekvam step stool for many years and it has seen me through many a DIY and painting job. As a result it was looking rather sad and paint-splattered, so I decided to give it a new lease of life.

Stool1
The bright sunshine is hiding the worst of the paint splatters!

There are lots of ‘hacks’ for this stool on Pinterest and initially I toyed with the idea of painting the stool and decoupaging wallpaper across the steps, but then I came across an image of a white-sided, varnish-topped stool and thought it looked classy, and would fit the colour scheme of my kitchen (where it currently lives).

First of all I sanded the paint splodges off the stool – some paints were easier than others (the red was the most stubborn!).

Stool2
Already looking happier after a sand-down

I used some old B&Q quick dry varnish in gloss oak for the steps; I did the steps first so no drips could ruin the white sides. I then used some Ronseal garden paint in white ash for the sides, simply because a tin was lurking at the back of the garage along with the varnish.

Stool3
Usually found hiding in the garage

It needed two coats of paint and varnish overall, though I did do a third coat on the front section to thicken it up. I’m really pleased with the end result, if I do say so myself!

Stool4
Looking good!

Link here: https://uk.pinterest.com/pin/533324780851610471/

Published by

victorialjames

Here I'll show you all the Pinterest craft, cooking and DIY projects I attempt - good and bad! Find me on Pinterest: @victoria1james or on Instagram: @victorialjames

6 thoughts on “Painted stool”

    1. Thank you 😊 It looks a lot better than the paint-splattered stool it used to be. I use it all the time in the kitchen and after having that refurbished, the shabby look of the stool didn’t quite work!

      Like

Leave a Reply

