Joining and edging the willow squares blanket

You may have read my previous posts about making crochet willow squares and blocking them; the next jobs were to join the squares and put a border on the whole blanket.

b
The finished blanket

There are lots of ways to join crochet squares and most of the methods I found were for joining granny squares. The individual granny squares tend to have a triple crochet outer round whereas the willow squares have two rounds of double crochet, so I struggled to work out the conversion (I am a crochet novice!) to join them together. I then found someone who simply ‘sewed’ the squares together with a darning needle and yarn so I tried that, and it worked.

blanket-3
‘Sewing’ the square together

I joined the squares into rows first and then rows to rows. Since I am a novice, not all my squares had the same amount of stitches on each side so I had to double up some of the stitches but it is subtle and doesn’t ruin the final product.

blanket-5
Row 1 complete

I decided on a ‘scallop’ border as it’s a simple design which I thought wouldn’t take away from the pretty detail of the willow square. It also helped that it is a simple pattern to follow. Overall, I’m really rather chuffed with myself and the first baby blanket I’ve made.

blanket-2
Close-up of the scallop border

Joining link here: https://uk.pinterest.com/pin/533324780854783260/

Border link here: https://uk.pinterest.com/pin/533324780854783265/

Published by

victorialjames

Here I'll show you all the Pinterest craft, cooking and DIY projects I attempt - good and bad! Find me on Pinterest: @victoria1james or on Instagram: @victorialjames

2 thoughts on “Joining and edging the willow squares blanket”

Leave a Reply

