Butterfly framed art

In looking for ideas for decorating a nursery, I found pins for framed butterfly prints and thought, I can do that!

01fe7484cb3f286c9399ab84577017f51d2c7896c3
And I could do that!

I popped along to my local Homebase and picked up lots of samples of the girliest wallpapers I could find (free), to Wilkinson’s for a box frame (£4.50) and a tester pot of pink paint (£1).

One of the wallpaper samples I chose had butterflies all over it, so I cut out a small one to use as a template, rather than print an outline from Google Images or attempt to draw one myself. I then cut out 12 butterflies; two from each style of wallpaper. I folded six of them down the centre to make the wings appear to lift from the background.

I painted the frame with some basic emulsion paint in ‘marshmallow’. This needed three coats of paint as the bare wood soaked up the first coat almost immediately.

01ad222139955d01938117c51cb37ac618bac601a4
Nicely painted frame

I then glued the six flat butterflies to a plain background and the six folded ones on top, and reassembled the frame. Et voilà!

On Pinterest, the frames I spotted were for sale on sites like Etsy for well over £10. Mine cost me £5.50 and only a few hours of my time. And I think it’s perfect for a little girl’s bedroom.

01fe7484cb3f286c9399ab84577017f51d2c7896c3
Pink, pretty, perfect for a little girl’s bedroom

Link here: https://uk.pinterest.com/pin/533324780856225355/

Published by

victorialjames

Here I'll show you all the Pinterest craft, cooking and DIY projects I attempt - good and bad! Find me on Pinterest: @victoria1james or on Instagram: @victorialjames

4 thoughts on “Butterfly framed art”

    1. It was surprisingly easy, though I must admit I was tempted to just buy one, but being on maternity leave now and waiting for the baby to arrive has left me with time to kill to try out craft projects like this!

      Like

Leave a Reply

