Crochet tea cosy

I have a plain, white tea pot that I never use, so I thought a colourful tea cosy for it might encourage me to use it more. I also wanted to see how long it would take to make as I’m looking for quick crochet projects to work on and potentially sell much later down the line. 

The pattern for the tea cosy is incredibly easy to follow – it is mostly just the puff cluster stitch, until the end where you do a round of double crochet. Once you reach the sections for the spout and handle gaps, there is a lot of cutting the yarn and beginning again, which means a lot of ends to sew in at the end. However this also means it is easy to switch colours and have a striped cosy. I chose these colours simply because I had a lot of yellow and a little blue, but next time I’ll try out a multicoloured one and use up lots of scraps of yarn.

Cute button detail
The pompon is a bit rubbish as I made it quickly and without a pompom maker; I think a super-fluffy, multicoloured one would be perfect for a stripy tea cosy.

Rubbish pompom 😋
Link here: http://pin.it/uJMM22w

Published by

victorialjames

Here I'll show you all the Pinterest craft, cooking and DIY projects I attempt - good and bad! Find me on Pinterest: @victoria1james or on Instagram: @victorialjames

One thought on “Crochet tea cosy”

Leave a Reply

