Savoury flapjacks

My little girl has shown us that she’s very strong-willed and has decided that she does not like to be spoon-fed, but would rather feed herself. So somewhat reluctantly I turned to Baby Led Weaning (BLW). I read up on it and actually my opinion of it has been changed – I initially thought it was one of those ‘faddy’ things – and I wish now that we’d just started the weaning process with it, avoiding the stress of her refusing the spoon and wasted purées! 

Red pepper, cheese, spinach and paprika flapjacks

As we cook the majority of our meals from scratch, we weren’t looking to use jars or pouches of ready made food, but some of our own meals aren’t so baby-friendly at the moment – or just would be too messy for me to deal with! – so I’ve been trying out some easy recipes to vary what my daughter eats and to introduce lots of new tastes and textures. 

One of two dishes of flapjack mixture

I found this savoury flapjack recipe and it looked simple to make, so I tried it out. I added red pepper, cheese, spinach and paprika for lots of lovely flavour. The quantity of ingredients made a lot of flapjacks so I’ve frozen some for future meals. 

Up close

It wasn’t an entirely mess-free meals as flapjacks do crumble up, and it was a bit ‘claggy’ as Mary Berry would say, but my little girl seemed to enjoy it… I certainly thought it was tasty so I’d try it again with some different ingredients.  

Perfect for little fingers

Recipe here: http://pin.it/Ba_ikrK

Published by

victorialjames

Here I'll show you all the Pinterest craft, cooking and DIY projects I attempt - good and bad! Find me on Pinterest: @victoria1james or on Instagram: @victorialjames

2 thoughts on “Savoury flapjacks”

Leave a Reply

