Blackberry and apple loaf

My husband reminded me I had a bag of wild blackberries stashed away in the freezer, hint, use them or lose them. So I looked for a nice new recipe to try. Last year I chose a blackberry pie slice and it was lovely (and there’s an old blog post about it) but I wanted something different that I could freeze in portions for quick sweet snacks in the future.

cake-5
I forgot to take a photo of the finished loaf before slicing it up, so here’s a slice!

This recipe stood out to me as I rarely make loaf cakes and it sounded tasty with the apple, orange zest and cinnamon mixed in. I used ‘Stork for Cakes’ rather than butter, which did melt a bit in the breadcrumb making stage instead of making fine, dry breadcrumbs. This didn’t seem to ruin the recipe however.

cake-1
Not quite fine, dry breadcrumbs

I used the blackberries straight from frozen instead of defrosting them so they wouldn’t turn to mush before mixing into the cake mix.

The recipe suggested checking the cake after 50 minutes that it wasn’t browning too much, and mine wasn’t, neither was it 15 minutes later, nor in the final 15 minutes, so all good there.

Once cooled and cut, I discovered the cake could have done with an extra five or ten minutes in the oven as it was very moist inside. This could be due to the amount of blackberries in it too, so next time, I’d bake for longer and adjust the amount of fruit I put in. Still, it’s a very tasty loaf cake.

cake-5
Tasty!

Recipe here: https://uk.pinterest.com/pin/533324780856418892/

Published by

victorialjames

Here I'll show you all the Pinterest craft, cooking and DIY projects I attempt - good and bad! Find me on Pinterest: @victoria1james or on Instagram: @victorialjames

Leave a comment